top of page

Mettille, Lomax, Hubbard, Bitterling, Schwartz, Lauritson, Naese score checkers

For the third time this April and despite some chilly temps, promoter Billy Knippenberg Jr. has managed to get in another full program of racing this past Friday night.

The night saw a plethora of drivers picking up their second wins of the season as Torin Mettille (Pro Late Models), Jamie Lomax (Modifieds), Austen Hubbard (Stock Cars), Deece Schwartz (Pro Modifieds), David Lauritson (Sport Compacts) and Junior Quinlan (Stock 4 Cyl) all captured their second feature flags of this young season. Only Trevor Bitterling (Factory Stocks) earned his first triumph of the year.

Mettille of Cullom, IL grabbed the top spot in the first few laps of the 10-lap affair and would lead the rest of the way surviving a few challenges by Matt Hammond. but it was Chase Osterhoff who rallied late with a turn four pass of Hammond on the final lap to claim second. Amber Crouch and Austin McCarty rounded out the top five. The victory was Mettille's 22nd of his career at Kankakee.

In UMP Modified action, it was Jamie Lomax of Lake Village, IN going wire-to-wire to earn his 29th career feature win at Kankakee. Giving chase to the stripe were Nick Seplak, Jason Hastings, Austin Friedman, and Adam Pockrus.

UMP Stock Cars headlined the show with an $800 to win main event where it was Valpo, IN driver Austen Hubbard showing off his skills on his way to his second win of the campaign over Jerrad Krick, Cody Clubb, Joe Spiewak and Don Hilleary. Hubbard used the high groove to keep the momentum to discard any challenges Krick go throw his way. Spiewak was the winner of the non-winners race to earn the pole for the main event.

The "Star City Stud" Trevor Bitterling started on the pole of the UMP Factory Stock feature and ran away from the field to score his first win of the year ahead of Kiran Roundtree, Travis Wolford, Nathan Arterberry and Robert Drangmeister. The win was Bitterling's third career win at Kankakee.

Deece Schwartz of Ashmore, IL continues to dominate the UMP Pro Modified division picking up his second win in as many tries but also his division leading 16th of his career. Ryan Kohler continues to impress recording his third runner-up finish of the season. He could be just a few breaks away from making his first visit to victory lane. Pete Argianas came third ahead of Scott McDonald and newcomer Wes Ricketts.

In UMP Sport Compact action, David Lauritson garnered the checkered flag again for his sixth career feature win going flag to flag for the win. Giving chase was Joshua Wright ahead of Dale Kohler, Jeffrey Naese and Stock 4 Cylinder top dog Junior Quinlan.

Next Friday night, May 5th, features the Badger Midgets and MidwestThrowback Sprint Cars coming to town to tackle the fast 1/4-mile clay oval. The night also features a full program of racing in all divisions except UMP Pro Models who have the night off. Tickets are $15 grandstands. and $35 pits for adults with racing set to begin after qualifying at approximately 7pm. You won't want to miss the open wheel mayhem this Friday night.

bottom of page