top of page

2023 KCS Rookies of the Year Announced (click here)

Recently the staff of Kankakee County Speedway announced the 2023 winners of Rookie of the Year in each qualifying division. To be eligible, a driver must not have raced in more than four features prior to the start of the season and must not have dropped down in divisions to do so. They must also have finished top ten in division points or ran in over 50% of the events throughout the year.

The first ROTY award went to Sam Moore of Bonfield, IL in the Romar Transportation UMP Pro Late Model class. Moore finished the season 12th in points with a total of 630 points. Moore started 17 feature events in 17 appearances and recorded one top ten during the season.

The CR Towing UMP Modified ROTY went to Matthew Baker of Kouts, IN, who ended the season 10th in points with a total of 325 points. Baker entered nine events and started seven features recording five top ten finishes.

The 3 Sons Auto Salvage UMP Stock Car division did not have a qualifying ROTY this season.

West Ricketts of Fairbury, IL earned the UMP Pro Modified ROTY by placing seventh in the division with 685 points. Ricketts entered 15 events starting 14 features recording three top five and 12 top ten finishes.

The Express Powersports UMP Factory Stock ROTY award went to Kiran Roundtree of Lafayette, IN who claimed the ninth position in the season long points battle with 486 points. Roundtree started nine features in nine appearances recording six top five and seven top ten finishes.

Lastly, the First Place Oils UMP Sport Compact ROTY was awarded to Matt Prodehl of Godley, IL, who finished eighth in points with a total of 760. Prodehl made 19 appearances starting 18 features recording nine top ten finishes during the season.

Besides his efforts behind the wheel of the lone truck in the Stock 4 Cylinder class, Prodehl turned thousands of laps throughout the season either behind the wheel of a grader, tractor or water truck, giving racers the best possible track they could ask for on most nights. There were a few bumps in the road however for Prodehl and his team as mother nature delivered some late rains some weeks making it difficult to create perfect track conditions.

Drivers will be honored and presented with their awards at our 2023 Awards Banquet to be held at the Kankakee County Fairgrounds Exhibition Hall on Saturday, January 20th, 2024 beginning at 6pm.

bottom of page